AGA Council Section Research Mentor Award

Use this page to nominate persons for the AGA Institute Council Section Mentor Award to be presented at DDW 2012 in San Diego. You can submit more than one nomination

2011 Award Winners
The AGA Institute Council awards six (6) individuals a year with the Research Mentor Award. Council sections rotate participation each year. Last year’s winners were:

  • Esophageal, Gastric & Duodenal Disorders – James M. Scheiman
  • Gastrointestinal Oncology – C. Richard Boland
  • Growth, Development and Aging – Susan Henning
  • Intestinal Disorders – James L. Madara
  • Neurogastroenterology and Motility – Joseph H. Szurszewski
  • Nutrition and Obesity – Kursheed Jeejeebhoy

Award Description
This award, established in 2010, recognizes an individual for his or her achievements as an outstanding mentor in a specific area of research. An award will be given to a member of each AGA section and the mentor will have research interests in the section topic.

The recipient should be an individual who has made substantial contributions to the mentoring of trainees in the field of gastroenterology in the interest and topic area of the AGA section to which the nominee is being considered. AGA membership is required at the time of nomination. An individual is not eligible to receive more than one award/year and the current Chair and Vice-Chair of each Section are not eligible for this award.

Nomination Process
All online nominations must be submitted by December 15, 2011 by the nominator in the form of a complete nominations packet which should include the following:

  • Letter of Nomination
  • Letter should outline their mentoring activities
  • Max 2 pages
  • Up to three (3) additional supporting letters
  • Curriculum vitae
  • List of mentees, their topics of research, and their current status

Email Jennifer Gibson ( with complete nomination packets.

Selection Process
Eligible candidates will be reviewed by a selection committee comprised of the relevant Council section Chair and Vice-chair and a representative from the AGA Research Policy Committee.

Award Recognition
The recipient is presented with an engraved plaque at Digestive Disease Week®(DDW) during the AGA Council's Section Plenary sessions.